//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Song – I’ve Forgotten How To Talk To You

 

The first time I saw your face, I wondered

If it was real or if it was clay.

And how could a deity be so inspired

To forge something he’ll never touch?

You’re just like a mathematical Sunday —

Calculated and prepared for.

Since they built an altar to you, you think he’s jealous

Of your unfair proximity?

 

I know I’ve been waiting around in another time,

A world static and green.

I know I’ve been waiting around in another time…

Our spoken words on a chalkboard that I’ve erased but traces I still see.

 

If I ever walk your way, will you bother

To bare your teeth in harmony?

It’s like the land’s suspended underwater

With doors and windows floating past.

My heart carries a lot of weight: you’re the anchor

That drags and trips my stumbling feet.

And if I ever can escape… who am I kidding?

The brain’s a yo-yo with many strings.

 

I know I’ve been waiting around on another time,

Where hands will freeze like heat.

I know I’ve been waiting around on another time.

A war-time shock of broken clocks that melt into a heavily glued dream.

 

Like the force that molded you, I’ve retired

To stoic observation points.

If you were to cross my line of vision,

I hope I’d jump down from my mountain,

stably land, but I’d probably just stand there,

because I’ve forgotten how to talk to you.

 

[melodic moaning]

 

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

