//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

T.R.E.A.T.S. #5 – Alternate Reality

Saw you sittin’ windblown, ears budding headphones,

Sealed like flowers in your vase.

As you yanked tunes by their roots

What did my voice say?

Life appears sequential, so real potential

Always seems to show up late.

But memories held in the future

Shouldn’t have to wait.

(Of us I guarantee that while living these stylized lives we

 Both are inhabiting an alternative reality.)

Such a bold decision needs clearer vision,

Why not wipe those tears away?

Rivers will run from their problems 

To falling fates.

Evening air is soothing, stroll to keep moving,

Motion helps to mask the shake.

You’re holding my hand like you’re dangling 

From a cliff face.

(Of us I guarantee that while living these stylized lives we

 Both are inhabiting an alternative reality.)

Sunrise by the water, kites cut to wander,

Shapes up for a perfect day.

The path’s over here, wait my dear

You’re walking the wrong way.

*On a suspiciously related note, today is the one year anniversary of my girlfriend Jordan and (obviously) myself. I’ll mention also that I (obviously) love her, and that I only write songs for people I love. Except when I write them for people I dislike, people I find interesting, myself, or fictional characters. That’s as personally cheesy as I’ll ever get on this blog. Promise not to do it again.

Discussion

One thought on “T.R.E.A.T.S. #5 – Alternate Reality

  1. *Ahem. I’ll mention the love being reciprocal. And apologize for the similarly reciprocal personal cheesiness. See you at the airport for a (probably not) cheese-free international reunion. The stuff youtube videos are made of.

    Posted by Jordan | November 16, 2011, 4:36 pm

Leave a Reply

